Taking a Look at the Entire Series by Mousepaw

Mousepaw analyzes the different arcs of Warriors. 

Artwork by Owen Richardson

I started the series a few years ago, and absolutely LOVED the books I read. I remember when the “Omen of the Stars” series came out, and I flew through those books. I loved them like my little babies.
When the “Dawn of the Clans” series was released, it took me a while to get used to the COMPLETE change in characters, Clans, names and even rules. Even most herbs were different- this may not matter as much to some of you guys, but I LOVE herbs and it was difficult to memorize these herbs on top of all the rest that are more frequently used.
I was really excited when I heard a new series was coming out, called “A Vision of Shadows.” I read “The Apprentice’s Quest” quickly. To be honest, I was slightly disappointed. (Remember, this is just my opinion)
I felt there wasn’t quite enough action, and it seemed like there was a bit less effort put into it. For example, there’s a time skip to a half-moon ahead, when normally there are only big time skips in the last five chapters or so.
I was even more disappointed in “Thunder and Shadow.” Just reading the title makes you think, “Oh, it’s about ThunderClan and ShadowClan.” Usually, Warriors titles are a bit more mysterious, like “Sign of the Moon” or “Fading Echoes.” It was even pretty predictable. Perhaps it’s just that I’m getting older and noticing more, but I still refuse to believe I’m “growing out” of the books.
Another thing- Violetpaw just kept going back and forth between Clan and rogue, Clan and rogue. It got a wee bit tiring. Also, some possibly unrealistic name(s). Needletail- do cats even know what needles are? That’s just one, but there may be others.
Again, this is just MY OPINION, but I hoped you enjoyed reading.

Mousepaw out.


Fan Articles

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
May 28, 2017 4:59 pm

True they were a little slow but I adored them

May 28, 2017 5:51 pm

Don’t forget about pine needles so they do know about needles

April 9, 2020 9:12 pm
Reply to  Jadepelt

Exactly what I thought!

May 28, 2017 11:04 pm

nice!! i agree with you about the herbs.

May 29, 2017 4:34 pm

Finally, someone who feels the same way I do about the new series!! I agree with this article 105%. Good job!

June 29, 2017 2:57 am
Reply to  Shimmerfrost

i kinda agree when i read shattered sky i was laughing really hard on some parts but I feel the battle ended to quickly and skyclan was found too easily

June 1, 2017 10:09 pm

Needletail was probably named after the pine needles in ShadowClan camp 🙂

Embers of a Winter Dawn (Emberdawn)
Embers of a Winter Dawn (Emberdawn)
June 2, 2017 12:44 am

Interesting opinion, Mousepaw!

Brightwing - Bright Wing Of Mountain Bluebird
Brightwing - Bright Wing Of Mountain Bluebird
June 2, 2017 8:27 am

I haven’t read VoS so I can’t say anything 🙁 But cats would know about needles because they are referring to pine needles.

Upcoming Events!

Recent Purrs


  • Rosefeather
  • The phone really isn't ringing
  • Wrenwing:kit
  • Agatha Long, a human version of Yellowfang by Mossnose
  • Rootspring-Shadowsight-and-Bristlefrost-The-Broken-Code-by Sparkpaw
  • tigerleaf
  • JayFeather
  • Warrior's At Sunset  by Jinx